Author Topic: drill bit is out!  (Read 6489 times)

Jim Comet

• View Profile
drill bit is out!
« on: March 05, 2018, 09:14:13 PM »
Does anyone know of a EDM bolt removal service in Minnesota. All my other attempts have failed. Thanks, Jim

So I decide to do some of the oil mods on my std. bore really nice mirror 105 block tonight. Ive done a few before with no problem. This time I change things up and lube my drill bit with Deep Creep and when I am about 10 inches into the from oil passage that goes from the filter mount to the center oil passages. I've never used Deep Creep before to lube a drill bit but it was close by so I gave it a spray and boy did it bite hard and snap. 5 inches down the passage is 5-6 inches of wedged drill bit. I think the block may be junk. I used a grade 8 bolt and make a fork on the end tapped it in and tried to reverse the rotation. No luck. Any miracle help out there? It is a blind hole so I cannot tap it back out. Jim
« Last Edit: March 13, 2018, 06:07:11 AM by Jim Comet »

chris401

Re: broken drill bit removal
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2018, 11:31:38 PM »
Can you drop a dozen or so ball bearings down the top side of the hole and use them as a wedge? Same principal as grease to pop out a pilot bearing.

jayb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • FE Power
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2018, 09:58:13 AM »
Jim, that is a tough problem.  Can you look into the main bearing hole of #1 and see the drill bit?  Any chance you can get a pick or something in there to pry on it?
Jay Brown
- 1969 Mach 1, Drag Week 2005 Winner NA/BB, 511" FE (10.60s @ 129); Drag Week 2007 Runner-Up PA/BB, 490" Supercharged FE (9.35 @ 151)
- 1964 Ford Galaxie, Drag Week 2009 Winner Modified NA (9.50s @ 143), 585" SOHC
- 1969 Shelby Clone, Drag Week 2015 Winner Modified NA (Average 8.98 @ 149), 585" SOHC

Jim Comet

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2018, 10:28:49 AM »