Author Topic: AN fittings...aluminum or steel?  (Read 4924 times)

cjshaker

• View Profile
AN fittings...aluminum or steel?
« on: February 01, 2018, 10:35:36 AM »
I'm collecting the stuff for my Mach 1 to switch over to a complete AN style fuel system. I was wondering which is best for fittings, aluminum or steel? I've heard a few problems that can pop up with aluminum fittings, but have never heard of any issues with steel. Are there any downsides to steel? Any other issues or potential problems to look out for?

Also, how do AN fittings fit on rigid fuel lines? I assume there are specific fittings for hard line and braided? This is my first time using them, so I need to get up to speed on the subject.
Doug Smith

'69 R-code Mach 1, 427 MR, 2x4, Jerico, 4.30 Locker
'70 F-350 390
'55 Ford Customline 2dr
'37 Ford Coupe

fastback 427

• View Profile
Re: AN fittings...aluminum or steel?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2018, 10:47:10 AM »
I used the cheap summit brand stuff on my junk. Braided line and aluminum fittings.  No problems at all. On my fairlane i have a stock gas tank, made my own sender out of 1/2" hard line, ans used a hard line to an fitting adapter. Works slick.
Jaime
67 fastback 427 center oiler 428 crank Dove aluminum
top end toploader
67 fairlane gta cross bolted 12:1 390 Dove aluminum top end c6 3600 stall
65 falcon straight axle project
67 mustang coupe project
76 f350 dually 390 mirror 105 4bbl 4spd
74 f100 xlt 390 c6 factory ac

Heo

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2018, 11:19:57 AM »
The only downside that i can think of with steel is wheight
Add upp a lot on a full system  ??? :D
There is different fittings for braided and hardline
Dont know realy wish is ” real” AN  as in
Army Navy . Different ways to get the fitting to conecct
to hard line, stick to the same brand on all fittings
On the hard line you have a compression sleve that could
differ from one brand to another. On the braided line the
fitting goes inside of the hose