Author Topic: 1964 T Bird Project  (Read 1501 times)

Pallidin

• View Profile
1964 T Bird Project
« on: December 13, 2019, 04:24:54 PM »
I am a newbie to this forum and could use help.  The T Bird has a 390 with a 4 bbl carb.  I am retiring and want to fix up this rig which runs.  My goal is to up the horsepower, since it weighs 4400, but it will never see a track.  Where to start?  This may be the wrong direction but here is the first question: 
1. I am looking at either two quads or perhaps a single 1250 Dominator.

machoneman

• View Profile
Re: 1964 T Bird Project
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2019, 05:31:06 PM »
Think you need to first fill us in on engine condition, gearing, tranny (we know it's gotta be an auto but...), $ limits, hp or speed goals and more.
Bob Maag

Joe-JDC

• Truth stands on its own merit.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2019, 11:58:37 PM »
Neither of those carburetor selections would be advantageous to making your thunderbird run better.  First you need a good electronic distributor, and electronic coil, new plug wires, new spark plugs, and I would suggest a used Holley Street Dominator intake, used Edelbrock Streetmaster, or new or used Edelbrock Performer RPM, or similar four barrel aluminum intake manifold, a Summit  750 vacuum secondary carburetor, or Holley 3310 750 cfm carburetor and finally a good set of ceramic coated headers.  I would also suggest a new roller timing set if the one in the vehicle is a few year old.  Otherwise, I would not go into the engine until you see how well it runs with these modifications.  If it needs a rebuild, then think about camshaft, compression, and possible stroker crankshaft kit at that time.  Joe-JDC
Joe-JDC '70GT-500

sixty9cobra

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2019, 02:05:51 PM »
1250 is alot of cfm. I making 620 hp @6600 flywheel and only have an 850 double pumper.

Pallidin

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 15, 2019, 08:49:48 PM »