Author Topic: Nice Forum  (Read 4832 times)

billballinger

• View Profile
Nice Forum
« on: March 26, 2011, 01:43:56 PM »
Congratulations Jay on the new forum.  My FE project is going slow, but I had an idea I would like to run past.  I was thinking of going to a two ring pack, an oil and top total seal, and drill angled jets in the 2nd groove to shoot oil into the inside of the piston, specifically the roof in order to cool it.

Any feedback?  I have run 2 ring packs before on Brand X stuff and it reduced the friction considerably.

jayb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • FE Power
Re: Nice Forum
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2011, 03:16:35 PM »
Welcome Bill, and I'm glad you like the forum.  Unfortunately I have zero experience with running a two ring piston, so I can't really offer you any advice.  I sure would be interested in hearing how it works out though; good luck with the project!  Jay
Jay Brown
- 1969 Mach 1, Drag Week 2005 Winner NA/BB, 511" FE (10.60s @ 129); Drag Week 2007 Runner-Up PA/BB, 490" Supercharged FE (9.35 @ 151)
- 1964 Ford Galaxie, Drag Week 2009 Winner Modified NA (9.50s @ 143), 585" SOHC
- 1969 Shelby Clone, Drag Week 2015 Winner Modified NA (Average 8.98 @ 149), 585" SOHC

billballinger

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2011, 05:54:46 AM »
Using it on brand X stuff it was a considerable gain, but this was IHRA Top Stock, no street driving. Everything was loose enough that it had 10 psig oil pressure at the line, of course that is measuring at the end of the system.  I also had to file the rods slightly to not sling as much oil up to the walls.  It had to be very discrete.  When the two ring practice was outlawed, I just put an undersized ring in there along for the ride.  ;)

jayb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • FE Power
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2011, 07:33:35 AM »