Author Topic: Rebuilding a Ford Thompson Power Steering Pump  (Read 22435 times)

66FAIRLANE

• Andy
    • View Profile
Rebuilding a Ford Thompson Power Steering Pump
« on: April 29, 2013, 07:21:46 AM »
I recently rebuilt the pump on my 67 Fairlane and took some photos along the way to help anyone who may also want to do this themselves. I will preface this by saying I am not an expert and this is the first ps pump I have ever rebuilt so I am not saying THIS IS HOW TO DO IT, just how I did it. So if your looking for an insight into whats involved please follow along.

When I bought my Fairlane it had a noisy and leaking (fancy that  ;D) ps pump. The prevoius owner had bought a secondhand one off ebay and it was in the boot (sorry, trunk). I installed it and it too was noisy and leaking. I threw in a bottle of power steering stop leak/conditioner and it shut up but of course did not stop leaking. This was 3 1/2 years ago and it has been quiet ever since but still leaking. It really made a mess of the sway bar rubber and I want to replace it but of course a bit pointless with the pump still leaking so I decided to have a go at the one I took off 3 1/2 years ago and then rebuild the one I take off as a spare.

Internet research and a phone call to a very friendly and helpful gentlemen at http://www.stangerssite.com/FPparts.html uncovered the fact that once the campacks are noisy thats it, they are noisy forever. They are also no longer available, hard to come by now and there are two different sizes. I thought I would have a go anyway.

So I am after 2 kits and 2 bushes. I found the kits and bushes at Driveline Auto Parts (ok guys I am in Oz).
http://www.drivelineap.com.au/contact.html
Not sure how easy the bushes are to get now days. They had one in stock and the other had to come from interstate. I asked for a third as spare but this hasn't materialised yet.

Driveline part numbers.
Gasket and seal kit: PSK8034 SEAL KIT PUMP FORD C1 (TIN RESERVOIR) = au$15.95 + GST