Author Topic: 64 Galaxie 390 Project...Will be slow going and will need advice  (Read 1904 times)

XxSlowpokexX

• View Profile
Just wanted to say I am totally new to FE's and picked up a stock 64 Galaxy sans 2.5" dual exhaust and an edlebrock carb.  I also haven't played with a car with points and a carb since about 1994.  All that being said I did about a week of research and came up with a plan of action here.  This will not be a fascinating or exciting build, but more of a mild, I need to make it my own (and a bit more reliable) build.  I want to keep it simple for now as I end to go a bit overboard and cant leave everything alone.  So here is the plan and constructive criticism/advice is welcome.  Just as a side not the car has low miles (may or may not be true), and runs strong.  The motor however is blue and I thought black was the block color in 64 so something may have been done or changed or just painted.  Ill eventually find out

Ignition/Distributor

I was thinking an aftermarket with HEI built in such as the one DUI offers.  Ive used them in the past on many cars and been happy.  I see many point towards the Petronix however.  Pros cons?  I absolutely want to get rid of the points

Heads

Well, Id like to get a set of heads, have them rebuilt with hardened exhaust seats and perhaps minor porting valve job, correct springs for cam etc.  Ready to put on my engine. Is there e particular casting I should look out for.  Again mild so low rise or mid ride heads im guessing.  Does that affect the intake choice?

Intake Manifold

From what Ive read a performer RPM would likely be the only way to go for a new intake that is relatively not to crazy or crappy.  Would a used Street Dominator be good?  What should I keep my eye out on used? I heard stock is not bad either for what it is but I want to used it as a door stopper)

Camshaft