Author Topic: Redneck wrist pin bush honing...  (Read 2207 times)

mungus

• View Profile
Redneck wrist pin bush honing...
« on: March 24, 2021, 09:26:47 PM »
Have finally got around to prepping my spare 390GT motor parts, into a complete kit, ready to be built into a 68' OEM spec Mustang GT engine (spare for my car, which has a warmer one fitted).

While cleaning and inspecting the rods (matched set of C7AE-B's) I found one with a damaged wrist pin bush (one end had a wee bit broken out). The rest are great; look nice, no marks, pins run butter smooth and within spec. So no problem, sourced one new Clevite bush and am now ready to fit it.

However I live in the country and don't really want to wait months in line for my trusted machinist in the city to get around to honing this one bush (if required). With COVID it seems every man and his dog has got around to their projects and he's swamped. So as I'm a careful general engineer and trust myself not to be stupid, so I'm thinking I'll do this small job myself.

So my question is this. Has anyone used a flex hone to fit a pin bush? I don't like the idea of using a little stone type brake hone, as most are too coarse (made for doing ferrous cylinders) and perhaps too violent on bronze. Its easy enough to get a 1" aluminum oxide flex / ball hone (brake / lifter size) of a nice grit (240/320?), and I can't see why if carefully done, I can't carefully take off a thou or 2 as required.

In al these years building motors, I have never had to ream/hone a pin bush before, (lucky me). But it seems easy enough as long as you take it easy, check your measurements often, and maintain alignment & lubrication etc.

I seen videos of engine shops sizing rod eyes using a chucking reamer and lots of lube. Just running the rod eye in and out (by hand) until its at spec. So can a well lubricated, nice new flex / ball hone be any worse? Or was that "shop" a bit amateurish?

Happy for any views...

Thanks