Author Topic: SBF Dry Sump  (Read 4797 times)

frnkeore

• View Profile
SBF Dry Sump
« on: August 01, 2020, 12:46:28 PM »
I mentioned in the H&M head thread, that I had a H&M dry sump, with Randy's help, I was able to get to a a guy, named Jay Cushman, that collects, the extremely rare and high end Ford parts. He bought out all of Dan Gurney's Ford engine stock, as well as a lot of Shelby's. He has or has had, most everything that you've ever heard of, that was experimental or used in a Ford, race program.

He has identified my dry sump, as one that was funded by Ford and could have been contracted out by H&M, Shelby or Gurney. I was told that it came from H&M but, they sold a lot of parts and could have got it from one of the other two sources. That info, come from the fact, that it has a ASK prefix, to it's part number.

I'm a areospace machinist of more than 45 years and the quality is top notch for the time that it was made (65-68 era). It's a gear pump but, uses much larger gears than a SBC or BBC, as most used at that time, such as Weaver. As you can see it bolts to the original oil pump location and is entirely, self contained, with just one hose in and one out, using non AN, bulkhead fittings.

I can't use it on my current 306, because I'm using a girdle on it

Added:
As you can see, there are yellow marks, they are paint and look like a stencil made them. I can't quite make out the shape but, they are rectangular. I think they are acceptance marks, that would be applied after inspection.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2020, 01:20:47 PM by frnkeore »
Frank

cammerfe

• View Profile
Re: SBF Dry Sump
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2020, 10:48:29 PM »