Author Topic: Fresh Engine and C-6  (Read 2605 times)

mammyjammer

• View Profile
Fresh Engine and C-6
« on: January 30, 2013, 11:59:11 PM »
After doubling my initial budget and taking  twice as long as planned ,I'm  sneaking up on actually firing the fresh 428 and C-6  in my 58 Fairlane!!

I  have a question regarding preparations for start up.

These are the directions I have to fill the C-6:

Put 4 quarts of fluid in it. Then start engine and put another 4 or 5 quarts in then check until you see fluid on the stick.
Try putting trans in reverse and forward gears (may have to add more fluid if there’s no engagement). Check fluid level again and add until it shows at the bottom of the cross hatch mark.

My question is" How do I do this while running the engine at 2000 RPM for 20 minutes to break in the cam?"
This is my first attempt at rebuilding an auto transmission, so my stress level is elevated to 2X my usual fresh engine start!

GJCAT427

• View Profile
Re: Fresh Engine and C-6
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2013, 06:19:13 AM »
Did you put 4qts in the converter before putting it on the tranny? If so I would just add 6 qts to the pan and fire it. If not when you fire it ,it will suck whats in the pan dry and you run the risk of burning the internals from lack of lube. As I remember they take a total of 13 qts when you rebuild them.

jayb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • FE Power
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2013, 09:06:25 AM »