Author Topic: Introduction  (Read 1911 times)

GoeffsGalaxie

• View Profile
Introduction
« on: May 27, 2019, 08:23:05 PM »
Hello to all,
Being newly registered I thought I'd introduce myself and my project. Name is Geoff, I've been a professional mechanic for about 14 years now. I work on mostly vintage foreign cars, but a few years back I got the opportunity to assist with the restoration of a 1966 GT40 Mk2. I built the engine and transaxle, as well as a lot of help with final assembly and setup. Since then I've wanted to own something with an FE engine in it. So, last fall I bought a 1967 Galaxie fastback and drove it home from NC to NH.

It is an unremarkable car, but has lived a fairly good life. Some rusty spots, hood and trunk are the worst hit (inside skins) but floors, doors and frame are all sound.
Originally a 2v 390, with auto trans, as far as I can tell, the only options the car had when picked up at Gene's Ford, in Walla Walla WA was a power bench seat, and an AM radio. I've since removed the radio... found a real nice radio delete dash panel, and the radio didn't work anyway. The stock 390 was upgraded with an edlebrock intake, cam and carb around 10 years ago.

My plans for the car (which are well under way at this point), are a 4 speed conversion, change to a limited slip and 3.50 gears, and upgrade the front brakes to the period correct Kelsey Hayes 4 piston disc brakes. Obviously there are a number of minor "since you're here" items that will happen along that road.

Visually I am leaving the car fairly plain looking, and my personal ethos leans towards an NOS 1967 look, and parts when practical.