Author Topic: Calibrating the Dyno to Ensure Accurate Results  (Read 4907 times)

jayb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • FE Power
Calibrating the Dyno to Ensure Accurate Results
« on: March 26, 2019, 08:24:06 PM »
There's a lot of talk out there about dyno results that are bogus, and I must say I've seen quite a few of them myself.  As an engineer I'm quite concerned with getting accurate and reliable results from my dyno, so today before running Jim's engine I checked the calibration on the torque sensor of the dyno.

This is not a difficult thing to do with Superflow dynos because they provide you with a steel bar, called the calibration bar, that bolts onto the dyno's absorber and activates the torque sensor when weight is applied to the bar.  The decal on the calibration bar is shown in the picture below, and basically gives you a geometric idea of what is going on when you measure the accuracy of the torque sensor:

At the upper left on the decal, the dogbone shaped device is called the torque link, and it is what measures the torque that the engine is producing.  The calibration bar hangs in such a way that it applies torque to the torque link, and weights can be hung on the calibration bar, in the notch shown at the right in the decal.  The notch at the upper left of the calibration bar is the same notch.  This notch positions the weight exactly 3 feet away from the center of rotation of the dyno's absorber, so that if you hang one pound of weight on the bar, you are applying 3 lb-ft of torque to the torque link.  Also, the calibration bar itself has weight, so with only the calibration bar attached, the torque output from the dyno should read 17.5 lb-ft.

On my dyno there are studs coming out of the absorber, which allows you to bolt the bar into place.  See the picture below, with the bar installed: