Author Topic: I'd like valve spring recommendations for my 390 build  (Read 5090 times)

dmann

• View Profile
I'd like valve spring recommendations for my 390 build
« on: August 10, 2018, 04:47:48 PM »
Hello,  I'm completely new to FE engines.  I have a 1971 F250 with a 390 engine, which was rebuilt prior to me purchasing the truck.  I decided to do some upgrades before I take the truck on some family vacations towing a 24 foot camper.  I did find that the truck has a 3.5 something rear gear (can't remember how I found it, I think I read a tag with the info) and a C6 transmission.  I want to save this truck and pass it down to my son, so I decided that I could spend some money on it to jazz it up a little.  I purchased the new Edelbrock Pro-Flo 4 EFI system, headers, Hughes XTM towing torque converter, and some misc upgrades like a classic auto air AC system.  I decided to pull the front end off and yank the motor so that I could clean up the frame a bit and handle some rust on the inner fenders and install the torque converter.

The previous owner told me that an "RV cam" was installed but there are no specs at all.  Since I'm going to have the engine out I thought I'd upgrade the cam...and a friend of mine at work is retrofitting an LS into his old Chevy truck.  He was getting a new roller cam and so I thought I would also.  I purchased a cam and lifter kit from the Lunati website.  The cam is a small roller cam and the specs are:

Advertised Duration (Int/Exh): 262/270
Duration @ .050 (Int/Exh): 211/219
Gross Valve Lift (Int/Exh): .559/.559
LSA/ICL: 112/106
Valve Lash (Int/Exh): Hyd/Hyd
RPM Range: 1600-5600
Includes: Cam & Lifters (#72336-16)
Part Number: 20330710LK