Author Topic: Rocker Arm Geometry  (Read 3858 times)

19cougar68

• View Profile
Rocker Arm Geometry
« on: May 11, 2018, 10:25:26 AM »
I have been following along on the discussion on rocker arm geometry in the New Trick Flow Head thread.  There is a lot of great information on there with a great video link by Scott Foxwell but decided to create a new thread on the topic.

My question was eluded to in that thread but being a newbie I need a little more information/clarification.  My build will have BBM heads, factory non-adjustable rockers, a hydraulic roller cam and Morel hydraulic roller lifters.  Using the factory "shoe type rockers" what are the parameters to consider to obtain correct rocker arm geometry?  How do I verify rocker to valve tip contact?  Is it possible to use the 90 degree perpendicular goal at mid-lift?  Do I even need to worry about any of this with stock non-roller rockers?  I gave away my rocker tins since I was told they would not be compatible with BBM heads.  As a minimum do I have to compensate my rocker stand height to compensate for the height of the missing tins?  I have to order my pushrods soon so I would like to make certain of my rocker setup first.  Thank you.

andyf

• View Profile
Re: Rocker Arm Geometry
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2018, 10:42:59 AM »
First step is to mock it all up and see what she does. Cover the tip of the valve with something so you can get a mark. I usually just color it with a felt tip marker and then rotate the engine a few times to see what kind of witness mark is left. You can also tell a lot by just observing how the rocker moves across the valve tip. You'll probably have a problem with the hyd roller lifters if you are using the actual springs but they should work okay with checking springs. To see how it looks with the actual springs you might need to use a solid roller lifter.

scott foxwell

« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2018, 10:52:36 AM »