Author Topic: C1AE head porting  (Read 5000 times)

chilly460

• View Profile
C1AE head porting
« on: January 08, 2018, 02:24:30 PM »
I posted this topic on the Network54 site as well, but it's tough to find and recall the topic using that format.  I appreciate several folks chiming in and didn't want to lose the info.   I found several topics on porting the early low riser heads but they had Photobucket attachments which are now broken links, so figured I'd post this. 

I'm by no means an expert, or even a novice so this isn't a "how to" guide.  Just figured I'd take a stab at porting a set, get some advice from knowledgeable folks along the way, and see how it goes.  I gathered some flow numbers from various sources and old posts, I'd feel very lucky to pull 280cfm @ .600" or so with these.  I have a set of BBMs flowed locally that I can compare, as well as some Edelbrocks that are currently on a car and will be put on the bench, so I'll have numbers for reference. 

Anyway, copied from other site:

1) Will 2.15 intake valve flow appreciably better than a 2.09?  Undecided between a 4.08 or 4.16 bore at this point, most likely 4.08 though. I'd like to try a solid flat tappet, old school combo with these, so lift would not be over .600" 

2) The "knobs" at the top of the intake ports on the right half of the head, can they be taken out? Seems odd as the two left ports do not have them, not sure what purpose they serve but they're obviously right on the roof where velocity is high and if possible I'd like to take them out.  If they need to be retained, can they be shaved down a bit, and radiused into the corners of the roof? 

3) The intake ports have a 45* or so chamfer on the roof at the entry.  I'm planning to basically raise the roof enough to flatten that chamfer to the roof and blend it back into the port, any issue there?  It's abrupt enough, seems that it'd cause turbulence at the intake junction.