Author Topic: Experience with King rod bearings?  (Read 1927 times)

Pentroof

• View Profile
Experience with King rod bearings?
« on: January 06, 2019, 10:27:03 AM »
I have no experience with the brand and thinking about trying them.
Jim

My427stang

• View Profile
Re: Experience with King rod bearings?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2019, 10:38:46 AM »
I generally use FM/Speedpro, but got a set of +.001s Kings in here to hit some numbers.  I didn't end up using them, but they looked very very nice and the numbers were spot on

These were the narrowed HP series for a BBC journal, not the cheaper SI series though, which look to be a VERY good value, but I have never used them and their width seems to be right on the edge for room on a BBC/SCAT crank combo

BTW, if someone needs a set of BBC +.001s (meaning +.001 MORE clearance not less) let me know, I'll give a great deal on them.  This brain surgeon read it backwards and thought I was closing up clearances and when I measured, I realized the error of my ways.  These make the rod end .001 bigger, not .001 smaller. 
---------------------------------
Ross
Bullock's Power Service, LLC
- 70 Fastback Mustang, 489 cid FE, Victor, SEFI, Erson SFT cam, TKO-600 5 speed, 4.11 9 inch.
- 71 F100 shortbed 4x4, 461 cid FE, headers, Victor Pro-flo EFI, Comp Custom HFT cam, 3.50 9 inch

ntheogen

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2019, 02:31:16 AM »
They are an aviation bearing manufacturer mostly to my knowledge so they're probably okay for our old rusty junk.

blykins

• View Profile
    • Lykins Motorsports
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2019, 06:32:57 AM »
I use a little bit of everything, including Kings.  Good bearings.
Brent Lykins
Lykins Motorsports
Custom FE Street, Drag Race, Road Race, and Pulling Truck Engines
Custom Roller & Flat Tappet Camshafts
www.lykinsmotorsports.com
brent@lykinsmotorsports.com
www.customfordcams.com
502-759-1431
Instagram:  brentlykinsmotorsports
YouTube:  Lykins Motorsports

RustyCrankshaft