Author Topic: 428 crank spacer  (Read 4074 times)

happystang

• View Profile
428 crank spacer
« on: August 26, 2018, 03:16:06 PM »
Hi everyone, I'm relatively new to the FE world, I usually dabble with Windsors. I'm building an S code '68 fastback with a 428, as the 390 blew up sometime in the 70's.

After a little research, I discovered that the 428 uses a spacer that slides over the crank snout. Which one do I need? I see some using the "hatchet" style crank spacer. My crank is marked 1U and the block has an "A" scratch (not a CJ or SCJ).

My spacer is unfortunately missing and I don't think they're reproduced. I do however see a few vendors on ebay selling billet ones. If I go this route, does anyone have a specific vendor or link to a good one?

I'm assuming that I might have to buy one used, is there anything specific condition wise that I should look for?

(FYI, I plan on repainting the block the dark corporate Ford blue, can't stand the lighter color)

IMG_6835.JPG by armon7, on Flickr

jayb

• Administrator
    • View Profile
    • FE Power
Re: 428 crank spacer
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2018, 03:21:39 PM »