Author Topic: Tuning help on a 489CI FE  (Read 5462 times)

Tony Fritz

Tuning help on a 489CI FE
« on: March 07, 2016, 03:19:45 PM »
First time posting on this forum but not new to FE's. I have some questions for some experienced tuners with my 427 (489). My combo is: 489 CI stroker 427, Genesis block, Scat rotating assembly, JE domed pistons estimating 12:1 CR, Edelbrock MR heads gasket matched, Comp Cams HR cam 622 lift 252 & 262 Dur @ .050. BT MR 8V manifold with Carl's repro BJ & BK carbs, MSD 6AL ignition with MSD Pro Billet Dist. 3.89 rear gears and Tremec TKO 600 5 speed. 1st thing I noticed is what I consider low vacuum at idle....steady 6-7 on my vacuum gauge. Is this normal with an 8V and this cam? I also didn't have very good control of the idle. Carbs had 60 main jets and standard .020 secondary butterfly opening. I changed main jets to 64, put in 3.5 power valves instead of the 6.5 and closed the secondaries.This seemed to help a bunch. I can now set the idle at 950RPM and have some control. The second is the car had a very bad low RPM surge (1500-1800 RPM)when at cruise. I was able to get most of that out with advancing the timing and timing curve adjustments. I am running 18 initial and 39-40 total all in at 3200 RPM's. Does this sound like I am doing the right things? Car now drives pretty good but still not as stable at low RPM cruise as I would like. Is this because of the pretty aggressive cam or am I missing something? Thanks for any help and/or suggestions.

blykins

• View Profile
    • Lykins Motorsports
Re: Tuning help on a 489CI FE
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2016, 03:34:48 PM »
Pretty hot cam....it's not gonna want to be lugged around. 

The advertised duration for that hydraulic roller lobe is going to be very high.  You will have lots of overlap (with those lobes, over 100° of overlap).......no vacuum.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2016, 04:02:13 PM by blykins »
Brent Lykins
Lykins Motorsports