Author Topic: Educate me on chevy rods...  (Read 5891 times)

cjshaker

• View Profile
Educate me on chevy rods...
« on: July 10, 2013, 09:31:39 AM »
I'm getting ready to start gathering parts for my next engine. I've always used factory rod/crank ratios with stock throw diameters, so I have no experience with the chevy rod combo. However, I have a good factory steel crank that I would like to use in my next build, but the problem is that it has been machined wider at the rod journals. I'm getting .026 side clearance measurements. Seems this is the number Ford recommended in their performance catalogs if I'm not mistaken. I think that's excessive.

I want to put this in a street/strip build for a '55 Ford. My question is two-fold I guess. First, would you run that much clearance? It seems to me that it would throw too much oil on the cylinder walls, overpowering the rings ability to do their job. What do you guys think? I know why Ford did it, but practices and materials have come a long way and I don't see anybody running that much clearance even in drag engines.

Second, I know chevy rods have a reduced journal diameter so they require turning the journals down...which has the benefit of reducing bearing speed. A big plus, not to mention the fact that you can get bearings that actually fill the entire width of the rod (for the life of me, I can never understand why FE bearings only cover about 3/4 of the rod width. I mean really...why?)

But are they wider? Can I close up my side clearance some using a chevy rod? Or am I stuck with a perfectly good steel crank that has too much side clearance? The crank is std/std and magged good, so I hate to consider it unuseable.

What do you guys think?
Doug Smith

'69 R-code Mach 1, 427 MR, 2x4, Jerico, 4.30 Locker
'70 F-350 390
'55 Ford Customline 2dr
'37 Ford Coupe

mike7570

Re: Educate me on chevy rods...
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2013, 04:37:28 PM »