Author Topic: Best actual Ford cast 4V intake found  (Read 9165 times)

Joe-JDC

• Truth stands on its own merit.
    • View Profile
Best actual Ford cast 4V intake found
« on: January 02, 2021, 11:44:14 PM »
As many of you know, I have been porting since 1972, and specializing in Ford products, but branched out to anything needed, even tractor heads,  even four cylinder, six cylinder, and SOHC/DOHC late model heads, etc.  I thought I had ported every Ford cast aluminum intake that has a Ford part number on them, until last month.  I now have had two C6AE-9425-K "Sidewinder" intakes to flow and work on.  I had never seen one of these, and I have ported a lot of -"J" Sidewinders over the years.  These two "K" intakes average 338-339 cfm as cast.  That is better than the "J" intake by at least 30 cfm, and 40 or more better than the -F.  Better than a Performer RPM as cast, and better than the BT as cast.  How many of you actually have one of these?  Supposedly came on a few real 427 Fairlanes, and 427 Cobras, but I have not verified that at this point.   I would be interested in buying one if I could find one reasonably priced to add to my collection.  Joe-JDC
Joe-JDC '70GT-500

cleandan

• View Profile
Re: Best actual Ford cast 4V intake found
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2021, 08:45:16 AM »
Sorry Joe, I don't have a (K) sidewinder.
I am curious what you found in the casting design that gives the better flow ability?

Joe-JDC

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2021, 10:49:49 AM »
The distance between the pushrod tubes is over 1.500" allowing for wider ports as cast for one thing.  Has some unique features that make me wonder if they were meant for marine usage, also.  Joe-JDC
Joe-JDC '70GT-500

Joe-JDC

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2021, 10:58:00 AM »
Hit post accidentally before adding pictures.  The studs on ports #1 and #5 are unique to Ford intakes that I have seen.  Joe-JDC
Joe-JDC '70GT-500

Jim Kramer

• View Profile