Author Topic: Driving feel differences between 390, 427, 428, and strokers  (Read 16014 times)

EricDS

• View Profile
Driving feel differences between 390, 427, 428, and strokers
« on: January 14, 2018, 10:35:34 AM »
I'm still new to FE's so my 390 is all I've driven.  I'm curious what is the "seat of the pants" feel of the others usual FE engines.

Obviously every build is different but I'm basically looking to understand which is the most fun to drive on the street, assuming a mild-moderate street build.  Also how does a 427 feel compared to a 428?  Wondering how the different bore and stroke combos affect the "fun factor"
1964 Monterey Marauder

Drew Pojedinec

• View Profile
Re: Driving feel differences between 390, 427, 428, and strokers
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2018, 01:43:20 PM »
Kinda a tough one to answer.....
I mean, the car, gearing, camshaft, intake, heads, etc are going to play a huge difference.

Mind you they are drastically different engines, but my 390 is a great driver, works great everywhere I'd need it.
The stroker has just mountains of torque off idle to 6000rpms.... just twisting hard the whole way up, get all 8 venturi to open up and Woooooaaaaahhhh. 

My view is, build the biggest engine you can afford and cam/gear/head/intake it to what the intended purpose is.
But I'm a street car guy, I'd prefer a super tame 500ci engine than I would a high strung 400ci engine.
Maybe the racer's will have a different point of view.

chris401

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2018, 02:53:56 PM »
I'm still new to FE's so my 390 is all I've driven.  I'm curious what is the "seat of the pants" feel of the others usual FE engines.

Obviously every build is different but I'm basically looking to understand which is the most fun to drive on the street, assuming a mild-moderate street build.  Also how does a 427 feel compared to a 428?  Wondering how the different bore and stroke combos affect the "fun factor"