Author Topic: Factory Heads VS Aluminum Heads  (Read 1974 times)

Skeeter65

• View Profile
Factory Heads VS Aluminum Heads
« on: February 24, 2021, 11:47:19 AM »
Please feel free to move or delete this post if it is in the wrong place. I am new to FE's but I have questions. Why would I want to run Factory heads VS Aluminum Heads other than the cost factor? What I have is a '67 390 2V with the factory C7AE A 8 bolt heads out of a '67 Galaxie 500. Once it is built it will be going in my '67 S Code Mustang Coupe to replace the original that was removed before I bought it back in the late eighties. So what I am after is a solid reliable street motor and will likely do a 445 stroker but wondering about the heads. Should I have the factory heads worked over and go with a Performer RPM or for the extra cost involved go the TFS route with either their intake or the RPM?

Thanks for any input you can provide.
Jody "SKEETER65"

GerryP

• View Profile
Re: Factory Heads VS Aluminum Heads
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2021, 12:08:58 PM »
You can do factory heads if all you want is, as you state;  "...a solid reliable street motor..."  You'll get more from the motor even in relatively stock form with good aftermarket heads.  If your iron heads need a lot of work...valve job, guides, springs, surfacing and all that, you start getting a machine shop bill that starts encroaching on new alloy head prices.  If you want to tart up the iron heads, porting and all that, then you are deep into alloy territory.  It all comes down to what your expectations are.