Author Topic: Total Control Engine Mounts  (Read 2208 times)

Chrisss31

• View Profile
Total Control Engine Mounts
« on: June 16, 2018, 11:04:10 AM »
I bought a set of TCP Engine mounts to bolt an FE into a 1966 Mustang.  Looking at things, with the mounts setting kind of neutral the driveline is going to want to be level.  Shouldn't I have a few degrees of angle in the driveline?  If I do that it's going be bearing on the rubber bushings all of the time.  Any words of wisdom??

HvyFt4spd

• View Profile
Re: Total Control Engine Mounts
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2018, 12:53:11 PM »
 Do have an angle finder/protractor? Dial it in where at ride height the carb pad is level. Then adjust vs pinion angle... See how bad it is as you want the mount as close to nuetral as possible. A little tweak won't matter as the weight of the engine/trans is going to compress/distort the mount slightly anyway. You still want it close if can't make it perfect as a twisted mount makes removing and installing the driveline more difficult.

I've never found any one of those type of kits that account for this out of the box properly. I just make own most of the time but on a customer supplied set you can usually shim your way there. If not you'll be into modifing or returning the set up.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2018, 12:55:54 PM by HvyFt4spd »

machoneman

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2018, 01:57:30 PM »
Until you add the tranny, dump both into the car and add the tranny mount, you won't really know the engine's angle.

I bought a set of TCP Engine mounts to bolt an FE into a 1966 Mustang.  Looking at things, with the mounts setting kind of neutral the driveline is going to want to be level.  Shouldn't I have a few degrees of angle in the driveline?  If I do that it's going be bearing on the rubber bushings all of the time.  Any words of wisdom??
Bob Maag

Chrisss31

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2018, 05:49:40 AM »